Creamy Dill Dip

It’s quite a dreary day in Baltimore. It’s cloudy, cold, and gray outside. The weather has been so erratic this season. I mean, it was just 80 degrees and sunny this past Thursday. I was so excited that I cleaned off my deck in preparation for sittin’ and sippin’ on some cold beverages while reading. Apparently, I’m going to have to wait a little longer.

Since I’m stuck inside today, I decided to utilize the time to create some deliciousness. I should be working on a research paper, but, as usual, I’m procrastinating. I’m a huge procrastinator. I do some of my best writing under pressure. Who can write a boring old research paper when you’ve got food on the brain? Certainly not me. So, I decided to whip up one of my favorite dips- dill dip. I love the stuff. It’s creamy and dilly (is that even a word).

This dip pairs well with fresh cut up veggies and chunks of rye or pumpernickel bread. I didn’t have any bread, but I had tons of veggies just waiting to be eaten in my fridge. If you’re having a party or taking this to a party, you can hollow out the inside of a round loaf of your favorite bread and serve the dill dip in the bread. The best part is eating the bread bowl after the dill dip is gone. Yum!

This dip is a huge crowd pleaser. I’ve taken it to several parties, and it’s always the first to go. The dip is creamy and light. I use light sour cream to cut back on the calories. Don’t worry, you can’t even tell the difference. They’ll never know they’re eating something healthy. I add a splash of freshly squeezed lemon juice to freshen it up and give a lovely crisp flavor. The lemon juice cuts through the richness of the sour cream, creating a very refreshing dip.

I usually make this dip and cut up some fresh veggies to eat throughout the week. I have one of those tupperware veggie and dip keepers with the lid, so I keep in that and store it in the fridge. Having this dip around helps assuage my temptation for cookies, cake, and pie- oh my! I’m less tempted to shove fistfuls of cookies in my mouth if I have something healthy to snack on. Enjoy!

Love and healthy snacking,

Jennie

Recipe:

1- 16oz. container of light sour cream

1/4 cup mayo

1/2 lemon, juiced

2 tbs. dry dill (1/2 cup fresh)

1 1/2 tsp. Bon Appetit seasoning salt (McCormick makes it)

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

In a medium bowl, add all of the ingredients. Whisk until combined. Serve with fresh veggies or chunks of your favorite bread.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

